On the Access page, you can set the different permission levels for the site. Permission levels allow you to determine who can do what on your site.



Class sites have: ReadersStudents, and Teachers, while group sites, have ReadersContributors, and Owners.

  • Readers have read-only access, meaning they can only view your site. Readers can comment on blog posts. Note: If you choose Public (Anonymous), your site will be visible to everyone on the Internet. 
  • Students or Contributors can add content to the site, submit assignments, blogs, edit the wiki, or participate in discussions.
  • Teachers or Owners have full control of your site. They can add and remove content, enable features or format the site. This is useful for substitute teachers, or co-taught classes. You can't remove yourself but a co-owner or co-teacher you add can do that for you.

Readers

In this section, you can control who can view your site. You can add individual users or groups. There are three levels of Reader permission for Class sites and four levels of reader permission for Group sites:

  • Public Access - Gives permission to anyone who has the address for your site to access it and read the public areas. 

    Public Class Sites

    Enabling public access is useful for parents, e.g., readers can see announcements, events and assignments, but not student contributions. 

    Once public access is enabled, any places where students can add information (or their names can be seen) is still private. On class sites, shared documents, wikis, discussions and blog comments are hidden from anonymous visitors. 

    Portfolios, the student list, student blogs, discussions, assignment submissions are not open to public visitors. 

  • All Students - Allows all students to view the site. 
  • All Teachers - Allows all teachers to read announcements, events and assignments.
  • All Staff (Groups only) - Allows all staff to read announcements, events and assignments.

To add individual readers click the ADD button and search by name, username or email address.

Students & Classes (Class)

Students can participate in discussions, comment on the class blogs, and submit assignments. 

On class sites we recommend leaving the default access, All Students, this avoids the need to add students individually. Students can easily find and follow your class to start contributing

To add individual students click the ADD button and search by name, username or email address. 

Add Classes

If your school has enabled Scholantis SIS Data Sync you will see a list of classes from your Student Information System when adding students (Look for the graduation cap ).

Adding a class from your SIS synchornises your class site enrolment with your Student Information System. Every night students are automatically added or removed from your class site. New students are added as followers to your site so it appears on their My Classes list, and a blog or portfolio will be created (if enabled on your class).

Add all students in a class from the Add Student & Classes area:

  • Click the + ADD button beside the name of the class to add all the students in the class. 
  • View the individual students in a class by clicking the down arrow 

Contact your school's technology support team if any warnings are dispayed next to student's names.

If your school has enabled Scholantis SIS Data Sync you will also see any co-teachers class names when adding students or classes.

Teachers (Class)

You are automatically included as the creator of the site. Any other people you add will become co-owners of the site, with full editing ability. This is useful for substitute teachers, or co-taught classes. 

Enter the names of individual teachers or groups by clicking the ADD button and searching for the name, username or email address. 

Contributors (Group)

In this section, set who you would like to be able to contribute to your site. Contributors can add and edit content or participate in discussions and blogs.

Enter the names of individual users or groups by clicking the ADD button and searching for the name, username or email address. 

Owners (Groups)

You are automatically included as the creator of the site. Any other people you add will become co-owners of the site, with full editing ability.

Enter the names of individual users or groups by clicking the ADD button and searching for the name, username or email address.