The Ribbon Bar is at the very top of the site, above the logo and District name. It introduces those Sharepoint functions that are commonly used by School and District Admin users. However, some of the features are available to teachers on the Class or Group Sites they own.
The Ribbon Tabs on the left side of the Ribbon Bar on the top of the screen only display when you are on a page you have administrative rights for. For example, if you are a teacher, it will display within a Class or Group site that you manage.
There are three main Ribbon Tabs: Browse, Page, and Publish.
The following features are available:
Clicking the BROWSE tab hides the ribbon and shows the site navigation and closes the ribbon.
Clicking the PAGE tab opens the Page Editing Ribbon with many editing options.
Below is an introduction to some of the useful features of the Page Ribbon, divided by section:
The Edit section includes:
The Manage section includes:
|Share & Track|
The Share & Track section includes:
This section includes:
The Page Library contains the following:
|Tags & Notes||Tags help you classify and remember links. Notes are public comments. Together, Tags and Notes allow you to post across your newsfeed and work across different sites.|
Clicking the small drop down arrow under the Edit button gives you basic options on saving and editing your page:
Sharepoint 2013 is a library of documents and web parts. Thinking of it as a library makes it easy to understand what happens as you Check Out and Check In items. When you check out a page, only you have access to the editing on the page. When you are finished with the page, Check it back in to the library so others can see the changes and edit the page. While you have it checked out, others will see the version of the page from before you started editing. The Scholantis Easy Buttons make the process easy - as part of that, the changes you make are immediately published and visible to everyone. Here you have the option to save and check in but not publish until you are ready.
This is an option you should consider carefully before using. Discarding a checkout means that you are discarding every edit you have made since you checked out the page. It is useful if there is a major flaw with the page that it is easier to get rid of completely.
Override checkout is a necessary function so that one can Discard someone else's checkout. They will lose everything they have been working on. This should not be done without checking with that Editor, if possible. It might be necessary if that Editor has gone on vacation or leave without checking the page back in.
A yellow bar across the page lets you know who has the page checked out
This provides a history of the page, and provides access to editing the page.
Clicking here provides version history and clicking the elipsis beside a version can restore a version to become the latest version - again a way to get rid of errors in editing.
This tab allows you to access the Publish/Unpublish button so you can publish or unpublish a page.
More information on all the features of the Editing Ribbon are available by researching Sharepoint 2013 on the web.